Eric here, I learned two very valuable lessons yesterday. One bear complexes suck!! Second I believe my body hates and I do mean hates gluten now!

Yesterday at CFSF (CrossFit SolaFide) the WOD was a 21- 18-15-12-9-6-3 of Bear Complex, Burpees and then 25 meter Bear Crawl between sets. Now a Bear Complex is Power Clean, Front Squat, Push Press, Back Squat and Push Press at 95 lbs. Which didn’t sound to bad at first is what most of us last night thought until we started and realized it was going to be a epic killer WOD. I remember the first two sets and the last two but I am not sure what happened in the middle other than I did the reps. What sucked the most was there was no part of the workout to catch your breath before the next set. I was proud that I was able to do the WOD RX (prescribed way), but I was totally dead after words. It took a good 10 mins or so before I felt I could drive T-Rex (Alex) and myself home for dinner. Now you may be wondering why the box I go to would have such a killer WOD on such a hot day, it was around or in the 100’s ( when it is that hot who cares about what temp it is). It was Nicks last day at SolaFide, so he picked this one thinking it wouldn’t be to bad till he saw times and then did it himself.  Now all this leads to the most important lesson of the day.

Gluten in large amounts and I are no longer friends. By the time I got home last night it was getting late and I was so exhausted from the WOD I just didn’t have the energy to cook bacon chicken kebabs ( which will be lunch for today and I will post the recipe next time). The Boss and I talked about it and decided F it let’s spoil our selves and grab some pizza. Which in the past large amounts of gluten only meant the next day had a lot of potty breaks (which I am sure you wanted to know) and that was it. Well not last night, I only ate 4 slices of pizza which is nothing compared to what I used to eat and boy did I pay for it last night. Even though I was so exhausted I could not sleep because I had stomach cramps and they were bad. They were so bad I didn’t get to sleep till around 0130 (1:30 a.m). I was so miserable. I feel I learned a very  valuable lesson, only eat gluten in small amounts if I have to. It is surprising to me that in only a few months of eating clean that my body has changed so much that food that was normally in my diet now upsets the balance of my digestive track.

Have any of you had issues eating the food you used to eat after becoming Paleo/Primal?

P.S On a few side notes, I started reading The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf. Which so far is a hilarious and informative book. I will talk about it in a future post. I also want to brag about my littlest born Dino Miah. He has been potty training this week and this morning he pooped in the potty for the first time twice (make that three times)! I think he is on his way to being a big Dino!

-Keepers of the Cage