Eric here, yesterday was a great 4th! It started off with me getting up at 0430 and driving out to the box. It was two HERO WODS, McGhee and Griff. Now by themselves they would not be to bad but when you do McGhee then only have a few minutes rest before Griff it hurts! It was a good hurt though. I love starting my day with two great WODS. Plus it was a bonus to do some HERO WODS to honor my fallen brothers and sisters that have given all to let us BBQ, enjoy time with the family and blow stuff up!

For dinner I made some awesome kicking Ribs and PaleOMG’s Cinnamon  Bacon Backyard Sweet Potatoes. If you click the hyperlink it will take you to her recipe. Here is the Recipe for my Still Not As Good As My Dads Ribs. Side note I cut part of the tip off my thumb while using the slicer to cut my sweet taters.  Don’t worry no blood or skin in my food! But I had to take a break and use my Army tape to patch my self up.

Still Not Better than my Dad’s Ribs

2 Racks of Pork Ribs ( I got St. Louis Style because they were on sale!)
About 4 T of both Garlic and Onion Powder
Salt and Pepper to taste
Trader Joes Organic KC BBQ Sauce

About five hours or more before I cook them I clean them up a little (important I separate the film from the meat on the back side of the Ribs). Then I season to my liking with the Garlic, Onion, Salt and Pepper. When it is time to grill them I heat my grill to a low temp around 40oF and cook for 15 mins flip and then 15 mins more before I start lightly painting BBQ Sauce on with a cooking brush flipping every 15 mins more BBQ Sauce for 30-60 more mins. Then take them off and let them rest for about 5 mins. Next cut and ENJOY!

After a kick butt dinner some really good friends of ours came over to watch the Base’s fireworks display from our front yard (The Brown Family). Our house on base is at a perfect spot to watch the display, so we don’t ever have to fight the crowds of people that go to the Parade Field. It is always nice to hang out with a great family and watch the kids play.

Hope you all had a wonderful 4th with the people you love most.

-Keepers of the Cage